Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
25 January 2016


Team’s Five Selections Most Since 2002
The National Football League has announced that Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Jameis Winston has been added to the 2016 Pro Bowl roster. Winston will replace New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady. He is the first Buccaneers rookie to earn a selection since Doug Martin in 2012.
Winston started all 16 games for Tampa Bay, throwing for 4,042 yards and 22 touchdown passes, with six rushing touchdowns. His 4,042 passing yards are the third-most by a rookie in NFL history and tied for the fourth-most in a single season by a Buccaneers quarterback. His combined 28 touchdowns (22 passing, six rushing) are the most by a quarterback in Buccaneers history and tie for the third-most by a rookie in NFL history.
Winston joins linebacker Lavonte David, guard Logan Mankins, running back Doug Martin and defensive tackle Gerald McCoy on the 2016 Pro Bowl roster. Tampa Bay’s five selections this season are the most for the team since 2002, when they had seven players selected. Winston is the first Buccaneers quarterback to earn a spot on the roster since 2007 (Jeff Garcia) and he is the first rookie quarterback to do so in team history, while becoming the first rookie quarterback named to the contest since 2012 (Robert Griffin III, Andrew Luck & Russell Wilson).
- ### -

< back